## • Names in the News

H. E. Robinson ('40) has been designated President-Elect of the Institute of Food Technologists. He was elected by the professional members of the IFT and assumed his new position in brief ceremonies held at the close of the Institute's 28th annual meeting in Philadelphia, Penna. He will become IFT's President at the close of the 29th annual meeting, planned for Chicago May 11-16 next year. Dr. Robinson is a vice president of Swift Company with responsibilities for both central research and engineering research, and for areas of operations that include the chemicals for industry, adhesives and gelatin departments, and the refinery and margarine business.







C. J. Robertson

C. J. Robertson ('68) has been appointed lecturer with the Department of Food Science & Technology of the University of Massachusetts. Mr. Robertson retires as eastern technical representative of Procter & Gamble Co., with which he has served for 21 years. He has had 35 years' experience in the technology and utilization of fats and oils, chiefly of the edible variety. While broadly-based in the food field, he has specialized in the areas of deep fat frying, and in filled dairy and bakery product technology. In the course of his ingredients and systems consultation activities, he has become nationally recognized as a pioneer in the conception, development and marketing of many present-day commercial fat and oil products. For many years, Mr. Robertson has lectured widely on his specialties at schools and to trade and technical association audiences. He has also published in many scientific and industry journals.

Mr. Robertson is currently a board member of the national Food Update Seminars, a series of industry-wide executive symposiums, and has been a founder of Connecticut (Nutmeg) Section of the Institute of Food Technologists. As a member of the Research and Development Associates of the U.S. Army Natick Laboratories, he presently chairs its task group assigned to the study of government specifications for fat and oil products.

B. H. Bruce has formally retired on October 31, 1968. after serving with the oil mills now operated by Anderson, Clayton & Co. for more than 40 years. Ben has been an AOCS member since 1938. While the details are not definite, Ben and his wife, Augusta, have plans to move back to East Texas, probably near Waxahachie, for their retirement.

S. H. Anonsen has been named Vice-President of the newly formed Chemical Group of Mallinckrodt Chemical Works. At the same time, H. A. BRINNER, Vice-President and General Manager of the Financial Division, was named Vice-President, Finance and Administration. The Chemical Group will be responsible for sales, development, research, and manufacturing of all chemicals sold for drug, food, cosmetic, electronic, and chemical process industries. The Washine Chemical Corporation, which Mallinckrodt acquired last month, is a part of the new Group reporting to Anonsen.

W. D. Schaeffer, associate research director of the National Printing Ink Research Institute (NPIRI) at Lehigh University, has been promoted to associate director, Center for Surface and Coatings Research and research director of the National Printing Ink Research Institute. Announcement of the dual appointment was made today by A. C. Zettlemoyer, vice president for research at the University.

In 1963, Mr. O'DEAN L. KURTZ established San-Serv as an independent consulting and laboratory center serving the Food & Drug Industry on matters of food and plant sanitation. During this same year San-Serv merged with Insect Control & Research Inc. Many will recall the original formation of San-Serv in 1959 by Kurtz & Harris while both were with the Food & Drug Administration.

Effective April 15, 1968 O'Dean resigned from Insect Control. At that time he was obliged to relinquish the name "San-Serv," pursuant to his contract with ICR.

Mr. Kurtz will continue to serve the Food and Drug Industry on matters of sanitation and related activities as Director & Entomologist of O'D Kurtz Associates and as East coast sales representative and consulting ento-mologist for the Knox Chemical Company, 18 East Kinzie St., Chicago, Illinois.

A. B. TILLMAN, president of Diamond Shamrock Chemical Company, a unit of Diamond Shamrock Corporation, announced the establishment of a new division within the company. The newly organized Bio-Chemicals Division consists of the present Agricultural Chemicals Division and the Fine Chemicals Department of the company's Nopco Chemical Division.

Appointment of E. W. Black ('61) as product manager for hydrogenation catalysts is announced by the Girdler Catalysts unit of Chemetron Corporation, Louisville. Prior to his promotion, Mr. Black was for seven years a technical service engineer.

H. A. BATLEY ('56), presently Executive Vice-President of the Nopco Chemical Division, has been appointed president of the Nopco Chemical Division and a Vice-President of Diamond Shamrock Chemical Company.



H. A. Batley



W. F. Schroeder

Appointment of W. F. Schroeder ('50) as technical director of the Food Products Division of Archer Daniels Midland Company was announced by Harry K. Bean, Division Vice-President.

Schroeder, who has nearly 30 years of experience in the food industry, will headquarter at ADM's soybean processing and food product manufacturing complex at Decatur, Illinois. He will be responsible for the direction of all technical services for the Food Products Division and for technical assistance to the research and production departments.

Formerly Mr. Schroeder was Vice-President for food technology for Humko Products Division of National Dairy Products Corporation at Memphis, Tennessee.